Memorandum of Understanding Between The Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics, Pohang, Korea ("APCTP"), and The Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies ("AAPPS")

Noting with appreciation the progress made by the two institutions in accordance with the Memorandum of Understanding signed on June 18, 2011, the parties look forward to continued engagement for further strengthening of bilateral ties and have reached an agreement on the following points in order to contribute to the advancement of physics in the Asia Pacific region and promote scientific cooperation between two institutions, based upon principles of mutual equality and reciprocity of benefits.

- 1. The two institutions will seek opportunities to cooperate in scientific research. The details of specific projects will be determined by mutual agreement of both institutions. The form of cooperation may vary with the goal of projects.
- 2. The two institutions will collaborate in organizing and hosting joint workhops and schools of common interest to both institutions. In particular, the APCTP will support academic activities organized by the AAPPS and its divisions. The terms of sponsorship of these academic activities are to be agreed upon by both institutions.
- 3. The APCTP will support the update and operation of AAPPS and AAPPS Bulletin websites as an information portal for physicists and students in the Asia Pacific region.
- 4. The APCTP will cooperate to publish the AAPPS Bulletin in collaboration with the Korean Physical Society based upoon this agreed Memorandum of Understanding ("MoU").
- 5. The APCTP will provide necessary administrative support for AAPPS meetings and activities to accomplish the goals of this MoU more effectively.
- 6. This MoU may be modified by mutual consent. This MoU will be in effect from the date of signagure for a period of five years. It will be automatically extended for an additional period of five years at each expiration date, unless either party gives six month's advance notice in writing to terminate the MoU.

Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics

Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies

um Mon Lee

Bum-Hoon Lee President Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics S.L.K.

Seunghwan Kim President Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies

Date: October 15, 2016

Date: _____Oct. 15, 20/6