APCTP-KIAS Quantum Materials Symposium 2019
February 10 (Sun), 2019 ~ February 15 (Fri), 2019
■ Main Page


    YongPyong resort  (Dragon Valley Hotel)

    Important dates

    ▪ Abstract submission deadline : Jan 28, 2019
    ▪ Registration deadline : Jan 28, 2019
    ▪ Workshop Dates : Feb 10 - 15, 2019


    APCTP-KIAS Quantum Materials Symposium 2019 (QMS2019) is organized by the Korean condensed matter physics community of strongly correlated electron systems (SCES) and various institutes in Korea including Asia-Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics (APCTP), Korea Institute for Advanced Study (KIAS), IBS (Institute of Basic Science) Center for Correlated Electron Systems (IBS-CCES) and IBS Center for Artificial Low Dimensional Electronic Systems (IBS-CALDES). We intend to bring world-renowned researchers in various frontiers in condensed matter physics. You may find information on the previous symposiums at the following web sites:

    ▪ QMS2018  QMS2017  ▪ QMS2016  ▪ QMS2015  ▪ QMS2014  ▪ QMS2013  

    In keeping with our tradition of hosting the symposium in a relaxed atmosphere, we hold QMS2019 at YongPyong Ski Resort during Feb. 10-15, 2019.


    During the symposium, we hope to cover various topics in condensed matter physics such as quantum magnetism, unconventional superconductivity, heavy fermion, quantum phase transition, low-D electronic materials, topological materials, superconductivity under extreme conditions, oxide semiconductors, 2D electrons, etc.

    Plenary Talks

         Roman Movshovich (Los Alamos National Laboratory) Intertwined States in Pure and Nd-doped CeCoIn5

         Qi-Kun Xue (Tsinghua University) Quantum anomalous Hall effect and new progress

         Han Woong Yeom (IBS-CALDES, POSTECH) Topological Excitations in 1D and 2D Charge Density Wave Systems

    Invited Talks

         Joung Real Ahn (Sungkyunkwan University) Dirac electrons in a dodecagonal graphene quasicrystal

         Arzhang Ardavan (University of Oxford) Electrical control of quantum spins

         Joseph Checkelsky (MIT) Dirac Electrons on the Kagome Lattice

         Pengcheng Dai (Rice University) Anisotropic spin fluctuations in detwinned FeSe

         Weibo Gao (Nanyang Tehnological University) Valley Hall effect in heterostructures MoS2/WSe2

         John Harter (University of California, Santa Barbara) Odd-Parity Electronic Order in the Strongly Correlated and Spin-Orbit Coupled Metal Cd2Re2O7

         Kenji Ishida (Kyoto University) NMR Studies on U-based Ferromagnetic Superconductors

         George Jackeli (MPI Stuttgart) Spin-Orbital Entanglement and Novel States in d1 Mott Insulators

         Ying Jiang (Peking University) Phase engineering of monolayer MoS2

         Moon-Ho Jo (IBS-CALDES, POSTECH) Epitaxial 2D Electrical Circuitry on Atomically Thin Van der Waals Semiconductors

         Kazushi Kanoda (University of Tokyo) Charge-Frustrated Organics as Quantum Soft Matter

         Changyoung Kim (Seoul National University) Emergence of robust 2D skyrmions in SrRuO3 ultrathin film

         Choong Hyun Kim (Seoul National University) Spin-orbital-entangled Jeff =1/2 state in 3d transition metal oxide CuAl2O4

         Jonghwan Kim (POSTECH) Ultrafast Optical Studies of Valley Pseudospin in Transition Metal Dichalcogenides

         Kwanpyo Kim (Yonsei University) Atomic Resolution TEM Imaging of Various Structure and Dynamics Enabled by Graphene Membrane

         Ki Hoon Lee (Seoul National University) Magnon topology and thermal Hall effect in trimerized triangular lattice antiferromagnet

         Philip J.W. Moll (EPFL) Super-geometric Electron Focusing on the Hexagonal Fermi Surface of PdCoO2

         Martin Mourigal (Georgia Tech) Nature of magnetic excitations in spin liquids

         Tuson Park (Sungkyunkwan University) Unconventional Superconductivity and Tuned Quantum Critical Point in the Double Helical Antiferromagnet CrAs

         Xiangang Wan (Nanjing University) Towards ideal topological materials: Comprehensive database searches using symmetry indicators

         Chan-Ho Yang (KAIST) Collective Defect Flow in Crystalline Solids

         Minoru Yamashita (University of Tokyo) Spin Thermal Hall Conductivity of a Kagomé Antiferromagnet

         Xingjiang Zhou (Institute of Physics, CAS) Laser ARPES on High Temperature Superconductors and Topological Materials



       Chair Jaejun Yu (Seoul National University)

       Chair Hyoung Joon Choi (Yonsei University)

       Organizing committee:

       Yunkyu Bang (APCTP)

       Jung Hoon Han (Sungkyunkwan University)

       Gun Sang Jeon (Ewha Womans University)

       Younjung Jo (Kyungpook National University)

       Changyoung Kim (Seoul National University)

       Jun Sung Kim (IBS-CALDES, POSTECH)

       Kee Hoon Kim (Seoul National University)

       Tae-Hwan Kim (POSTECH)

       Jae-Hoon Park (POSTECH)

       Je-Geun Park (Seoul National University)

       Kwon Park (KIAS)

       Tuson Park (Sungkyunkwan University)

       Chan-Ho Yang (KAIST)


    Prof. H. J. Choi (h.j.choi(at)yonsei.ac.kr), Ms. Kipum Oh (kipum.oh(at)apctp.org ) 

    Organized by