• Greetings



    "Welcome to the Asia-Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics(APCTP)."

    The center was established in 1996 with the ten member countries & regions of the Asia-Pacific region with the first president, Prof. C. N. Yang. The primary aim of the founding members was to build a hub-institute of theoretical physics in the Asia-Pacific region to facilitate collaboration and exchange of scientists of the Asia-Pacific region, and to provide a platform for scientists of less advanced region. Of course, this mission can only be fulfilled with close collaboration with the broader international community. As of today, our member countries & regions has grown to become 19 from the original 10 countries & regions.

    After 29 years, the Center now runs strong in-house research programs: Junior Research Group(JRG), which promotes young independent researchers to leadership roles; Young Scientist Training, which provides post-doctoral fellows ample opportunities to work with scientists of the center as well as of POSTECH. In particular, the JRG program, introduced by Prof. Peter Fulde, our former President(2007-2013), with a support from the Max Planck Society in 2007, has been very successful so that other institutes in Korea have launched similar programs. The Center also supports various scientific activities all year round: Conferences and Workshops, Focus programs, External/Joint activities in collaboration with the member countries & regions and partner institutes. Every year about 3,000 scientists are participating to these activities.

    With increasing number of the member countries & regions, the original mission of the center, being a networking center for the theoretical physics in AP-region, is becoming even more in demand. In particular, as of November 2017, the headquarter of the AAPPS(Association of the Asia-Pacific Physical Societies) has nestled in our center. This is a great event for both APCTP and AAPPS and we believe that two major Asia-Pacific organizations can serve better the physics community of the Asia-Pacific region. In future, our service and dedication will not be limited in the AP-region but will go over to the rest of the world because the spread of scientific knowledge is the most peaceful way to cultivate our civilization.

    APCTP 센터는 1996년 초대 총장 C.N. Yang 교수를 중심으로 아시아태평양 지역 10개국을 회원국으로 설립되었습니다. 창립 멤버의 주요 목표는 아시아 태평양 지역 과학자들의 협력 및 교류를 촉진하고 덜 발전된 지역 과학자들을 위한 플랫폼을 제공하기 위해 아시아 태평양 지역에 이론 물리학 허브 연구소를 구축하는 것이었습니다. 물론 이 사명은 보다 넓은 국제사회와의 긴밀한 협력이 있어야만 완수될 수 있습니다. 오늘 현재 우리의 회원국은 10개국에서 19개국으로 성장했습니다.

    센터가 설립된 지 29년이 지나, 현재 센터 내에서는 훌륭한 자체 연구 프로그램을 운영하고 있습니다. 젊은 독립 연구자를 리더십 역할로 육성하는 Junior Research Group(JRG)과 post-doctoral 연구원들에게 포스텍 뿐만 아니라 센터의 과학자들과 함께 일할 수 있는 충분한 기회를 제공하는 Young Scientist Training(YST)이 있습니다. 특히, 2007년 막스 플랑크 학회의 지원을 받아 전 회장인 Peter Fulde 교수(2007-2013)가 시작한 JRG 프로그램은 한국의 다른 기관에서도 유사한 프로그램을 출시할 정도로 매우 성공적이었습니다. 센터는 또한 연중 내내 컨퍼런스 및 워크샵, 포커스 프로그램, 회원국 및 파트너 기관과의 협력을 통한 외부/공동 활동과 같은 다양한 ​​학술 활동을 지원하고 있습니다. 매년 약 3,000여명의 과학자들이 이러한 활동에 참여하고 있습니다.

    회원국의 수가 증가함에 따라 AP 지역의 이론 물리학 네트워킹 센터로서 맡은 역할과 활동에 대한 기대감이 커지고 있습니다. 특히, 2017년 11월부로 AAPPS(Association of the Asia-Pacific Physical Societies)의 본부가 우리 센터에 자리 잡아 두 주요 아시아 태평양 조직으로서 아시아 태평양 지역의 물리학 커뮤니티에 더 나은 서비스를 제공하고자 노력하고 있습니다. 더 나아가, 우리 센터는 우리 사회의 지속적인 발전을 위하여 AP 지역에 국한되지 않고 전 세계로 과학 지식의 전파를 위해 노력과 헌신을 다 하고 있습니다.

    President Yunkyu Bang

    November 2017